Black Gully Music Festival 2022
10am SAT NOV 9th

Every year Armidale folk gather at Black Gully (behind NERAM) to celebrate community, music and biodiversity
Armidale Vegetable Sowing Guide
This guide shows planting time periods that should allow you to get a crop in Armidale.
Lightbulb Moments
Take control of your electrical use & costs with this Resource Guide Online PDF and Print PDF for welfare agencies to assist clients, colleagues and community.

Petition: Stop Coal Expansion in the Mudgee Region!

Sign Our ePetition

Three large coal mines operate North of Mudgee on Wiradjuri land: Yancoal’s Moolarben Mine, Glencore’s Ulan Mine and Peabody’s Wilpinjong Mine. The mines intersect farming land, the Central West Orana Renewable Energy Zone and awe-inspiring National Parks.

The three mines were the biggest producers of coal in NSW in 2023 with a combined production of 36.7 million tonnes – equivalent to 89 MT CO2e. The overall CO2e could be as great as 1.7 billion tonnes with current approvals and proposed expansions. This is three times Australia’s emissions from all sources.

All three mines are planning to expand! The EIS stated Yancoal’s proposed OC3 expansion alone could put “six species at risk of serious and irreversible impacts” including Regent Honeyeaters and Koalas.

Continuing to approve expansions of mines this size makes a mockery of the target of 50% emissions reductions by 2030. The target of net zero emissions by 2050 will be impossible.

“this proposal could contribute to the real possibility of the extinction of Koalas in NSW” – EIS

No amount of offsetting or management will change these impacts.

The three mines are also within the Central West Orana Renewable Energy Zone. Competition for workforce, accommodation and services are very high. There is no justification to expand coal mining in a region with fast-tracked renewable energy generation.

To ensure a safe climate future, no new coal can be mined.
Sign Our ePetition
Visit Our Website

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>