Sustainable Living Armidale Inc.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 6th July 2017 at 7.15pm at Kent House, 141 Faulkner Street, Armidale

Present: Iain MacKay (Convenor): Adam Blakester, Claire Blakester, Jaz Blakester, Jan Brahe, Joy Bowles, Joc Coventry, Jody Evans, Tom Fisher, Mahalath Halperin, Jo Leoni, Tom Livanos, Sarah Johnstone, Carol Mackerras, Peter O'Donohue, Bailey O'Reilly, Martin O'Reilly, Stuart O'Reilly, Quihh O'Reilly, Dorothy Robinson, Hani Soliman, Helen Stokes.

Apologies: Patsy Asch, Kerri Clarke, Michael Evans, Bar Finch, Liz O'Hara, Lyn Hosking, Pat Schultz.

Welcome

lain welcomed everyone, and noted that no proxies had been received.

1.0 Confirmation of Minutes

The minutes of the previous AGM held on 7th July 2016, which had been circulated in advance, were moved Jo Leoni and seconded Jody Evans and were confirmed.

2.0 Business Arising

There was no business arising from the minutes.

3.0 Convenor's Report and Welcome to country

The Convenor, Iain MacKay, welcomed members, and asked the Convenors of the groups to present a brief report from their group to the meeting as follows.

Community Garden

- A year of consolidation: more compost making, improving soil, fighting weeds
- 3 figs and an apricot take our tally to 21 trees
- Some peanuts were grown!
- On the downside, both Josh and Noel have moved away from Armidale
- For the future, we aim to keep on improving the soil and to develop the herb garden

Armidale Action on Coal Seam Gas and Mining (AACSGaM)

- 3 years of National Highway Actions
- Leard and Pilliga CSG and Coal Mining Tours
- Member of North West Alliance
- Submissions re Santos 7000 page EIS
- Work with Wando Conservation & Cultural Centre
- Films 'The Bentley Effect' & 'Cultivating Murder'
- Knitting Nannas

Energy

No report

Transport

No report

Armidale Local Food

- Food from the Community Garden and other home gardens being sold at the Farmer's Market
- Permablitz conducted on one backyard
- Seed savers trying to get off the ground
- Grow, eat and buy local

lain thanked all the Convenors and groups for their on-going efforts on behalf of SLA, and members for their support of forums, fundraisers, festivals etc. He commented that in the coming year, there would be more focus on Art and getting youth involved, as well as the establishment of a new sub-group on Waste.

4.0 Treasurer's Report for the year end 30 June 2017

The Financial Statement for the year end 30 July 2017 was presented and it was noted that it had been another steady year of operations for Sustainable Living Armidale. The continued success of the bi annual House and Home Grown Garden tours, combined with further assistance from Roads & Maritime Services, and successful projects throughout the year has seen SLA realise a surplus of \$3545.03.

The continuing success of the Community Garden, and in particular produce sales, was certainly the highlight and is to be congratulated. At the end of the financial year, the combined SLA account balances held at Regional Australia Bank came to a total of \$33,307.70. This amount comprises general funds of \$19,506.18*, as well as \$13,801.52 held in the separate Community Garden account.

As of the end of financial year, SLA had 36 financial members. All membership subscriptions become due and payable at the AGM. The Treasurer, Jody Evans, indicated that she was not aware of any significant outstanding payments to be made, nor any unbanked outstanding receipts.

Those members present at the meeting resolved to adopt the Financial Statement for the year end 30 June 2017.

*Note Following the AGM, the Treasurer confirmed that funds to the amount of \$1040.12 in the Statement were held in trust for the *Armidale Action on Coal Seam Gas and Mining* which had not been identified in the Statement adopted by the meeting.

5.0 Election of Office Bearers

Joc Coventry assumed the Chair, declared all positions vacant, and invited nominations for the following positions.

- **Convenor**: Iain MacKay nominated by Sarah Johnstone, seconded Jody Evans. There were no further nominations, Iain elected unopposed.
- **Secretary**: Sarah Johnstone nominated by Mahalath Halperin, seconded Jan Brahe. There were no further nominations, Sarah elected unopposed.
- Treasurer: Jody Evans nominated by Jo Leoni, seconded Iain MacKay. There were no further nominations, Jody elected unopposed.

lain resumed the chair, and advised that the following delegates had been recommended by their Action Groups, and following endorsement by the meeting, become members of the Coordinating Committee. He also called for a Convenor for the newly created Waste group, and Peter O'Donohue was nominated.

Patsy Asch (Energy); Tom Fisher (Transport); Mahalath Halperin (ALF); Jo Leoni (Community Garden); Jan Brahe (AACSGaM); and Peter O'Donohue (Waste)

6.0 Special Resolution – Approval of revised Constitution

The meeting considered the revised Constitution. Those members present at the meeting resolved to adopt the revised Constitution June 2017. Moved Iain MacKay, seconded Joc Coventry.

7.0 Close of meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 7:30pm, and was followed by the Thursday Forum.