# Sustainable Living Armidale Inc.

### Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 7th July 2016 at 7.15pm at Kent House, 141 Faulkner Street, Armidale

**Present:** Iain MacKay (Chair): Patsy Asch, Peter Barkley, Greg Beresford, Joy Bowles, Kate Boyd, Kerri Clarke, Joc Coventry, Jenny Drewitt, Jody Evans, Johanna Garnett, Mahalath Halperin, Cathy Lamont, Rachel Lawrence, Jo Leoni, Tom Livanos, Terry Manley, Robyn Newberry, Peter O'Donohue, Jane Pickard, Hani Soliman, Izabel Soliman, Ray South, Inge Southcott, Helen Stokes, Angela Symonds, Helen Webb.

Apologies: Sarah Johnstone (Secretary) and Bar Finch.

# Welcome

lain welcomed everyone, and noted that no proxies had been received.

# **1.0 Confirmation of Minutes**

The minutes of the previous AGM held on 2nd July 2015, which had been circulated in advance, were moved Jo Leoni and seconded Joc Coventry and were confirmed.

# 2.0 Business Arising

There was no business arising from the minutes.

# 3.0 Convenor's Report

The Convenor, Iain MacKay, welcomed members, and presented a visual report of the past year which highlighted the activities of the various groups which facilitate local action on a range of issues i.e.

#### **Community Garden**

#### Armidale Action on Coal Seam Gas and Mining (AACSGaM)

Energy

#### Transport

#### Armidale Local Food

### Road to Paris

lain thanked all the Convenors and groups for their on-going efforts on behalf of SLA, and members for their support of forums, fundraisers, festivals etc.

#### 4.0 Treasurer's Report for the year end 30 June 2016

The Treasurer, Robyn Newberry, advised the meeting that the Financial Statement and Treasurers Comments had been circulated by email to all members, and requested that Iain MacKay read the report on her behalf.

It was moved Kate Boyd, seconded Patsy Asch that the Financial Statement for the year ending 30<sup>th</sup> June, 2016 be adopted. Those members present at the meeting resolved to adopt the Financial Statement.

#### 5.0 Election of Office Bearers

Rachel Lawrence assumed the Chair, declared all positions vacant, and invited nominations for the following positions.

- **Convenor**: Iain MacKay nominated by Jo Leoni, seconded Kate Boyd. There were no further nominations, Iain elected unopposed.
- **Secretary**: Sarah Johnstone nominated by Patsy Asch, seconded Robyn Newberry. There were no further nominations, Sarah elected unopposed.
- **Treasurer**: Jody Evans nominated to replace Robyn Newberry on 1<sup>st</sup> September, 2016 by Patsy Asch, seconded Joy Bowles. There were no further nominations, Jody elected to replace Robyn unopposed.

lain resumed the chair, and advised that the following delegates had been recommended by their Action Groups, and following endorsement by the meeting, become members of the Coordinating Committee.

Patsy Asch (Energy); Tom Fisher (Transport); Mahalath Halperin (ALF); Jo Leoni (Community Garden); Ken Brown (AACSGaM); and

lain reminded all present that the SLA structure encourages members (at least 3) to set up action groups to pursue a goal or activity consistent with SLA's vision, mission and values.

# 6.0 Vote of Thanks

Helen Webb proposed a vote of thanks to all Committee members and working groups for their efforts over the previous year. All present agreed.

# 7.0 Close of meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 7:40pm, and was followed by the Thursday Forum.